American Society of Landscape Architects Names 10 New Honorary Members
[ Back ]   [ More News ]   [ Home ]
American Society of Landscape Architects Names 10 New Honorary Members

                        Government leaders, environmental activists and ASLA staff leaders among honorees

Washington, D.C.,— August 18, 2009 —
Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the selection of 10 new honorary members to the Society for their work in education, government, environmental activism, and dedication to the landscape architecture profession. The presentation ceremony will take place at the ASLA Annual Meeting in Chicago, September 18-21.

Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, honorary membership is among the highest honors ASLA may bestow upon non-landscape architects in recognition notable service to the profession. Since it’s inception in 1899, ASLA has awarded only 134 honorary membership s. Image and nomination letters are available here.

Arnold Alanen, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin–Madison
As a professor of landscape architecture for more than 30 years, Alanen shaped thousands of future landscape architects. Among his many accomplishments, he cofounded Landscape Journal, the premiere research publication in its field; created multiple documentaries on landscape architecture; tirelessly advocated for the preservation of historic landscapes; and has earned multiple ASLA awards.

Susan Cahill-Aylward, Managing Director, Information & Professional Practices, ASLA

Cahill-Aylward has led multiple successful initiatives at ASLA since 1996, with little fanfare, never calling attention to herself. Though she oversees multiple departments and programs, including the ASLA library, the Professional Practice Networks, and information technology for the Society’s staff, she is not afraid to pitch in with any task and remains a tireless advocate for the profession.

The Honorable Russ Carnahan, U.S. Representative ( Missouri )

Since his election in 2004, Representative Carnahan has championed historic preservation, sustainable transportation, conservation, and environmental stewardship. He regularly cosponsors and advocates for key legislation that would create a more sustainable world. In addition, he has been a stalwart supporter of the Historic American Landscapes Survey.

The Honorable Bob Graham, Former Governor and Senator of Florida
Throughout his political career, Senator Graham has led local, national and international initiatives to protect and conserve natural resources. A champion of the Everglades , he recognizes that conservation and sound development can coexist. As governor, he led the charge to secure public ownership of more environmentally endangered lands than any other state in the nation.

Stephen E. Hamwey, Principal, Sasaki
Hamwey has more than 30 years of experience in the planning and design of complex urban projects. His educational background in civil engineering and business (MBA) allows him to effectively lead award-winning projects for one of the leading landscape architecture firms in the world. These projects more often than not feature landscape architecture as the core discipline, earning 16 local and national ASLA awards.

The Honorable John Norquist, President and CEO, Congress for the New Urbanism, and Former Mayor of Milwaukee

Over the past 20 years, Mayor Norquist has significantly advanced the art and practice of urban design, both in his role as mayor of Milwaukee and as a founder and current president of the Congress for New Urbanism. The author of The Wealth of Cities, he champions the premise that good urban design can solve pressing city problems.

Sally Reynolds, Historian
Reynolds is a historian whose career has focused on the work of Frederick Law Olmsted and the incredible design legacy his firm has left in the state of Washington . A regular tour guide and lecturer, she has collected an extensive private archive of Olmsted documents and was a leader in the placement of Spokane’s Olmsted-designed Rockwood Historic District on the National Register of Historic Places.

Nancy C. Somerville, Executive Vice President and CEO, ASLA

Somerville serves as one of the leading advocates for the landscape architecture profession, positioning the Society at the forefront of design and construction issues, particularly in the area of sustainability. Since joining ASLA in 2000, her leadership has advanced the recognition and prominence of the profession. She has been a tireless advocate for green roofs, leading the effort to build a green roof demonstration project on the ASLA headquarters building.

Jeff Speck, Affiliate ASLA, President and CEO, Speck & Associates LLC
Speck is a city planner and architectural designer who advocates internationally for smart growth and sustainable design. As Director of Design at the National Endowment for the Arts from 2003 through 2007, he oversaw the Mayors' Institute on City Design and created the Governors' Institute on Community Design, a federal program that helps state governors fight suburban sprawl.

Connie Spellman, Director, Omaha by Design
Under Spellman’s leadership, Omaha by Design has helped the city adopt sound urban design and sustainability plans. Her work has helped Omaha earn national recognition for showcasing the possibilities of quality urban design planning and implementation. A staunch advocate of landscape architecture, she brings together multiple design disciplines to generate creative solutions and wide consensus.

About ASLA

Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing 17,000 members in 48 professional chapters and 68 student chapters. The Society's mission is to lead, to educate, and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments. Members of the Society use the “ASLA” suffix after their names to denote membership and their commitment to the highest ethical standards of the profession. Learn more about landscape architecture online at


Jim Lapides
American Society of Landscape Architects
E-mail: Email Contact