The Advanced Imaging Society to Present 2019 Harold Lloyd Award to Writer, Producer, Director Christopher McQuarrie at 10th Annual Lumiere Awards at Warner Bros. Studios Wednesday, January 30th

Governor’s Award to Be Presented to Peter Jackson’s World War I Documentary They Shall Not Grow Old

Cinionic to Receive Sir Charles Wheatstone Award for Technical Innovation in Cinema

HOLLYWOOD, Calif. — (BUSINESS WIRE) — January 25, 2019 — The Advanced Imaging Society has announced the distinguished recipients of the organization’s top Lumiere Awards, which will be presented during the Society’s 10th annual honors ceremony January 30th at Warner Bros. Studios. Brad Bessey, the two-time Emmy award-winning veteran producer of Entertainment Tonight and CBS’s The Talk, will executive produce the show.

The Society has named Academy Award-winning writer, producer, director Christopher McQuarrie as the recipient of its 2019 Harold Lloyd Award. In partnership with the Harold Lloyd family, the honor is annually presented for distinguished achievement in filmmaking to directors who have “marshalled technology to empower storytelling.”

“Harold Lloyd was an actor, director, writer, or producer in more than 200 films,” said Suzanne Lloyd, Chairman of Harold Lloyd Entertainment. “He was an early proponent of using 3D and other technologies to advance the art of filmmaking, and he would be dazzled by the commitment Chris McQuarrie brings to every film,” she added.

McQuarrie is a frequent collaborator with Tom Cruise, having written and directed Jack Reacher, Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation and 2018’s Mission Impossible: Fallout. He won the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for The Usual Suspects, and is a writer for Top Gun: Maverick, which is currently in production.

The Society will also present a Governor’s Award to Peter Jackson’s groundbreaking World War I documentary They Shall Not Grow Old.

Directed and produced by Jackson, the acclaimed documentary is an extraordinary look at the soldiers and events of the Great War, using film footage captured at the time, now presented as the world has never seen it. Utilizing state-of-the-art restoration, colorization, and 3D technologies, and pulling from 600 hours of BBC archival interviews, Jackson’s film creates an authentic and powerful experience seen through the eyes of soldiers who lived it.

StereoD, the 3D conversion company renowned for their stereographic technology for feature films, was tapped, alongside Park Road Post in Wellington, New Zealand, to restore, colorize, and dimensionalize the material using artistry, techniques, and new technologies to create the visual feel Jackson intended for audiences. Park Road Post Productions also played a significant role in the restoration and the final DI.

“Our Society’s community of advanced imaging professionals has been astounded at what Peter Jackson has achieved with They Shall Not Grow Old,” said Society President Jim Chabin. “Using technology and superb artistry, the film has brought back to vivid life the 100-year-old images, faces, and emotional stories of those who served in World War l,” he added.

The annual Sir Charles Wheatstone Award will be presented to Cinionic for the company’s technical innovation and service leadership in cinema. “The future of our industry’s success with movie fans is in the hands of technical and innovation leaders like Cinionic,” said Chabin.

“Our ability to excite audiences is key to our long-term success. We are thrilled with the opportunity to recognize Cinionic for their partnership with storytellers,” he added.

The Lumiere Awards have been presented over the last decade to the industry’s most respected creative and technical leaders. Previous recipients have included Jon Favreau, James Cameron, Darla Anderson, Martin Scorsese, Ang Lee, Victoria Alonso, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Ivan Reitman, Chris Miller, Phil Lord, and many others.

The awards are presented again this year by Cisco and Dell.


The Advanced Imaging Society was formed a decade ago to educate, demonstrate, and recognize emerging technologies to accelerate the success of next-generation consumer experiences. Founded by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, DreamWorks Animation, Pixar, Marvel, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Dolby, and other Hollywood stakeholders, the organization now includes Silicon Valley and tech companies Cisco, NVIDIA, HP, Google, and Dell.

In addition to its annual awards, the Society produces seminars, educational videos, screenings, and aids in research.


Amy Prenner
Email Contact

Review Article Be the first to review this article
Featured Video
Latest Blog Posts
Alex Carrick, Chief Economist at ConstructConnectThe AEC Lens
by Alex Carrick, Chief Economist at ConstructConnect
Canada Reached Some Labour Market Milestones in August
Senior Highway Engineer for RS&H at Jacksonville, Florida
ASIC Architects and Hardware Engineers at D. E. Shaw Research for D. E. Shaw Research at New York, New York
Director, Industrial Machinery Solutions- SISW PLM for Siemens AG at Livonia, Michigan
Product Design Engineer - Softgoods for Apple Inc at Cupertino, California
Assistant Professor in Applied GIS for University of San Diego at San Diego, California
GIS Specialist for Schneider Geospatial at Indianapolis, Indiana
Upcoming Events
Building Innovation 2021 Resilience Sessions Virtual at United States - Sep 27 - 29, 2021
NIBS Building Innovation 2021: Virtual Edition. at United States - Sep 27 - 29, 2021
The 2nd international conference on Utopian and Sacred Architecture Studies at Online event Alexandria Egypt - Oct 5 - 7, 2021
Autodesk University 2021 | Free digital conference at United States - Oct 5 - 14, 2021

© 2021 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
670 Aberdeen Way, Milpitas, CA 95035
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
TechJobsCafe - Technical Jobs and Resumes EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise